For Advert Placement, Send A Mail To

All list of universities in Nigeria approved by NUC to offer Postgraduate Programmes

The National body responsible for overseeing the activities of all universities in Nigeria has recently released an approved list of Nigerian universities eligible to offer and also award postgraduate programmes to students in Nigeria. According to the National Universities Commission (NUC), a total of 69 universities are currently allowed to issue Masters and Ph.D degrees to students in Nigeria as such certificate will be considered valid and useful both within and outside the country.

nuc approved universities in nigeria

Among the universities which were given the approval by NUC are 26 Federal universities, 25 state universities and 18 private universities currently eligible to award postgraduate programme certificates. The commission passed the announcement to the public through the office of the Executive Secretary while listing Federal, State and Private universities allowed to award such certificates to students in the country. 

The National universities commission further said that they observed some institutions and parastatals are awarding postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliation with Nigerian and foreign universities without official approval. In other to address this problem, the commission has come out with an approved official list of universities that are allowed to offer postgraduate studies at Masters and Ph.D levels and any certificates attained as from July 30, 2012, is valid. 

Below is the full current list of Nigerian universities approved by NUC to conduct postgraduate studies in Nigeria. 

List of Federal Universities Approved by NUC for Postgraduate Programmes

Only 26 universities out of a total of 41 federal universities were approved by NUC to offer postgraduate programmes in  Nigeria. The list of Federal universities approved are as follows:

1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi 
2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 
3. Bayero University, Kano 
4. Federal University of Technology, Akure 
5. Federal University of Technology, Minna 
6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri 
7. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike 
8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola 
9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos 
10. Nigeria Defence Academy, Kaduna 
11. Nnamdi Azikwe University, Akwa 
12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife 
13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada 
14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta 
15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi 
16. University of Benin, Benin City 
17. University of Calabar, Calabar 
18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan 
19. University of Ilorin, Ilorin 
20. University of Jos, Jos 
21. University of Lagos, Akoko 
22. University of Maiduguri,  Maiduguri 
23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka 
24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt 
25. University of Uyo, Uyo 
26. Usmanu DanFodiyo University, Sokoto. 

List of State Universities Approved by NUC for Postgraduate Programmes

Among the 47 state universities across the country, only 25 universities were approved by NUC to carry out postgraduate studies in Nigeria. The full list includes the following: 

1. Abia State University, Uturu 
2. Adamawa State University, Mubi 
3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko 
4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma 
5. Anambra University, Uli 
6. Benue State University, Makurdi 
7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar 
8. Delta State University, Abraka 
9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki 
10. Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti 
11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu 
12. Imo State University, Owerri 
13. Kogi State University, Anyigba 
14. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso 
15. Lagos State University, Ojo 
16. Nasarawa State University, Keffi 
17. Niger Delta University, Wilberforce Island 
18. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye 
19. Rivers State University of Science and Technology 
20. Umar Musa Yar'Adua University, Katsina 
21. Gombe State University, Gombe 
22. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai 
23. Kano State University of Science and Technology 
24. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology 
25. Kwara State University, Malete.

List of Private Universities Approved by NUC for Postgraduate Programmes

A total of 74 official private universities exist in Nigeria currently. Out of this number of private universities, only 18 were given a positive go-ahead to carry out postgraduate programmes in Nigeria. Before you enroll for your masters and Ph.D. in any private university in Nigeria, make sure they are approved to offer such postgraduate programme by the National Universities Commission. 

Here is the list of Private universities as approved to award masters certificate by the NUC. 

1. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja 
2. American University of Nigeria, Yola 
3. Babcock University, Ilishan Remo 
4. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City 
5. Bowen University, Iwo 
6. Covenant University, Ota 
7. Igbiniedo University, Okada 
8. Pan-African University, Lekki 
9. Redeemer's University, Mowe, Ogun State 
10. Caleb University, Lagos 
11. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji 
12. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja 
13. Afe Babalola University, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State 
14. Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc. Only) 
15. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc. Only) 
16. Madona University, Okija 
17. Al-hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc. Only) 
18. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike , Enugu state. 

So before you register for postgraduate studies in any university in Nigeria, make sure they are listed on the current list of universities approved by NUC to offer and also award such certificates.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All adverts left on comment section of this blog are not endorsed by Myschoolbam. So consider them as SCAM!. If you respond to them, you do so at your own peril. We won't be held responsible for issue that arises. Thank you.