For Advert Placement, Send A Mail To

FG scraps non-technical programmes offered in Polytechnics

Few days ago, the FG took a bold step to reform the Nigerian educational system by scrapping out non-technical programmes offered in polytechnics. This policy was initiated immediately after putting an end to the discrimination between HND and BSc degrees in Nigeria. Now the gap between BSc degrees and HND certificates has been bridged.

The Federal Government's decision to scrap the award of Higher National Diploma HND certificates and also stop non-technical programmes offered in Polytechnics was reached at the Federal Executive Council FEC meeting held some days ago.

Must Read: NYSC corp members to receive N2 million after service for business start up.

Speaking with the press about the new on-going development in Polytechnics across Nigeria, the Minister of Education said that any programme that is not technical will be out of the Polytechnic. Prof. Adamu Adamu was quoted in his words saying thus:
 "About 70 percent of polytechnic graduates are in the non-technical courses. It is going to be a rigorous implementation programme," he said. 

Due to the new policy from the FG, myschoolbam has gathered some of the courses regarded as non-technical which will be affected. These courses will soon cease to be offered by Nigerian polytechnics when the policy takes effect.

The following are the 15 non-technical courses that will be scrapped from Nigerian polytechnics when the FG policy takes effect.
1. Accounting
2. Business Administration
3. Banking and Finance
4. Estate Management
5. Fine Art
6. Fishery
7. Public Administration,
8. Secretariat studies
9. Hospitality Management
10. Home and Rural Economics
11. Insurance
12. Marketing
13. Nutrition And Dietetics
14. Wildlife And Eco-Tourism
15. Leisure And Tourism Management.

Also Read: List of universities approved by NUC in Nigeria.

According to the Minister of Education, these courses will not available for fresh students seeking for admission. And those students, who are studying any of the above courses currently at ND level, will not be allowed to continue at HND level. However, as the policy is about to take effect, the following institutions have taken a new dimension to embrace the wonderful decision.

Yaba College of Technology will now be known as City University of Technology, Yaba, while Kaduna Polytechnic will be known as City University of Technology, Kaduna. Others are warming their gears to follow suit and embrace the new developments. This is a welcome development.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All adverts left on comment section of this blog are not endorsed by Myschoolbam. So consider them as SCAM!. If you respond to them, you do so at your own peril. We won't be held responsible for issue that arises. Thank you.